How to remove a Rapid Recovery VM from BackupAssist if it has been removed from Hyper-V Manager directly

How to remove a Rapid Recovery VM from BackupAssist if it has been removed from Hyper-V Manager directly

After running a Rapid Recovery VM, you should remove it from BackupAssist, but if it has been removed from within Hyper-V Manager directly BackupAssist will not be aware of the changes and will still show a Rapid Recovery is in progress which will prevent jobs that include Hyper-V from running.

To remove this status perform the following steps:

  1. Close BackupAssist console.
  2. Stop the BackupAssist Service in the Windows Services Manager.
  3. Move all files from C:\ProgramData\BackupAssist v*\VMRR folder to some temporary folder as a backup (where * is the version number you are running).
  4. Reboot the machine so that all mounted backup VHD and Snapshots are unmounted.
    • Related Articles

    • How to use the ‘Rapid VM Recovery’ Feature in BackupAssist

      Before we get started Before we look at Rapid VM Recovery, there are a couple of pre-requisites: Backup job type: Must be a ‘System Protection’ type including Hyper-V Destination: Must be a removable hard drive (e.g USB or eSATA) It’s worth noting ...
    • How to revert BackupAssist to clean installation

      In some cases, it is useful to be able to revert a BackupAssist installation into a vanilla configuruation, but without uninstalling the software and losing all the jobs and configurations. The following steps will allow you to temporarily run ...
    • BackupAssist is missing jobs after a version update

      Occasionally, BackupAssist jobs may be missing in the interface following an update of the BackupAssist version. The jobs can usually be returned by following these steps: Close the BackupAssist Interface and stop the BackupAssist Service from the ...
    • How to hard reset BackupAssist Licenses

      To reset your installation of BackupAssist so it has no licenses recorded in the software perform the following steps: Ensure you’ve taken a copy of the existing keys in Help -> Licenses and if possible deactivate them. Stop the BackupAssist Service ...
    • How to reset all BackupAssist settings but keep the current jobs

      In some cases, it is useful to be able to switch BackupAssist into a fresh vanilla setup mode, but keep the current jobs. This can be done by following these steps… Stop the BackupAssist Service in the Windows Services Manager. Go to the ...